SEEKING NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2023 MUNICIPAL CLERK OF THE YEAR

July 5, 2023

Dear Municipal Official:

The Alaska Association of Municipal Clerks (AAMC) invites you to nominate a municipal clerk as the **2023 Municipal Clerk of the Year**.

To be eligible, the nominee must be a municipal clerk who is a member of AAMC and has made significant contributions to furthering the municipal clerk profession. Please see the attached nomination form for award criteria.

Persons interested in submitting a nomination must complete the attached nomination form and provide the required documentation. The deadline for submission is **Friday, August 18, 2023**. If your nominee is selected for the award, you will be notified. The award will be presented on Tuesday, December 5, during the 2023 AAMC Annual Conference Awards Ceremony and Banquet at the Dena'ina Center in Anchorage.

Beginning in 2000, twenty two municipal clerks from communities across Alaska have received this prestigious award. Please consider adding to the list by nominating a municipal clerk from your municipality.

Completed nomination forms and associated documentation must be must be received no later than **Friday**, **August 18**, **2023**. Nominations may be submitted via email, fax, or postal service. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the form and documentation is received by the deadline. All nominations are confidential.

Should you have questions about the nomination form, please feel free to contact me at mjacobsen@ci.homer.ak.us or 907-235-3130.

Sincerely,

Melissa Jacobsen, MMC City Clerk, City of Homer

Clerk of the Year Committee Chair

Melison Jacobsen



CLERK OF THE YEAR AWARD RECIPIENTS

- 2022 Lonnie McKechnie, CMC Matanuska-Susitna Borough
- 2021 Sara Peterson, MMC City and Borough of Sitka
- 2020 Melissa Jacobsen, MMC City of Homer
- 2019 Kacie Paxton, MMC Ketchikan Gateway Borough
- 2018 Nova M. Javier, MMC Kodiak Island Borough
- 2017 Jamie Newman, MMC City of Wasilla
- 2016 Johni Blankenship, MMC Kenai Peninsula Borough
- 2015 Debra Marlar, MMC, City of Kodiak
- 2014 Jo Johnson, MMC, City of Homer
- 2013 Katy Suiter, MMC, City of Ketchikan
- 2012 Janey Hovenden, CMC City of Fairbanks
- 2011 Laurie Sica, MMC City & Borough of Juneau
- 2010 Jean Lewis, CMC, City of Seward
- 2009 Sheri Pierce, MMC, City of Valdez
- 2008 Colleen Ingman, MMC City & Borough of Sitka
- 2007 Marjorie Harris, CMC City & Borough of Skagway
- 2006 Kristie Smithers, MMC, City of Wasilla
- 2005 No recipient

- 2004 Bertha Panigeo, CMC North Slope Borough
- 2003 Sandra Dillon, CMC Matanuska-Susitna Borough
- 2002 Linda Murphy, MMC Kenai Peninsula Borough
- 2001 Mary Calhoun, CMC, City of Homer
- 2000 Mona Lisa Drexler, CMC Fairbanks North Star Borough



Alaska Association of Municipal Clerks 2023 Municipal Clerk of the Year Nomination Form

Name of Nominee:		
Title:		
Who may we contact with question	ns about the nomination, if any?	
Name and Title of Contact:		
Telephone Number:	Email:	

Award Criteria: On a separate sheet of paper, describe in detail how the nominee meets **each** award criteria below and attach letters of recommendation to substantiate why the nominee should be selected for the Municipal Clerk of the Year award.

- 1. Describe how the nominee has made significant contributions to furthering the municipal clerk profession, including their involvement with the Alaska Association of Municipal Clerks.
- 2. Describe how the nominee is committed to the improvement of municipal government in Alaska and in his or her home community.
- 3. Describe how the nominee is dedicated to continuing professional development through education.
- 4. Describe how the nominee demonstrates leadership in the office of municipal clerk and in the community.
- 5. Describe how the nominee has made significant contributions to the quality of life in the community in which he or she serves.
- 6. Describe the nominee's length of service.

THERE IS NO LIMIT TO THE AMOUNT OF DOCUMENTATION SUBMITTED WITH THIS NOMINATION.

This nomination form and accompanying documentation must be received no later than **Friday, August 18, 2023.** Nominations may be submitted via email, fax, or postal service. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the form and documentation is received by the deadline.

Summit the Nomination to: City of Homer Office of the City Clerk Melissa Jacobsen, City Clerk 491 E. Pioneer Avenue Homer, AK 99603 mjacobsen@ci.homer.ak.us Fax: 907-235-3130